Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Showcase 2021 Awards

Sahlin Eminent Faculty Award

The university’s highest faculty honor

The Sahlin Eminent Faculty Award recognizes a scholar who has changed the thinking in his or her field through teaching, research, creative scholarship, and service. Each recipient has contributed notably to the vitality and strength of the Washington State University community for more than a decade.

Douglas R. Call

Regents Professor, Paul G. Allen School for Global Animal Health

Regents Professor Douglas Call identified the central role of the environment in the emergence of antimicrobial resistance, a global health crisis. He is an internationally recognized leader in translating research into policy. He has advised the UK’s Fleming Fund, the US Presidential Advisory Council on Combating Antibiotic-Resistant Bacteria, and the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. The National Academies Forum on Global Threats highlighted his work in a commissioned report. The National Academy of Medicine invited him to present his research and policy recommendations. He directs international research programs related to antimicrobial resistance.

Call is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and a member of the Washington State Academy of Science. He has been an invited lecturer on several continents and serves on editorial boards and federal review panels. He has made his seminal discoveries while actively serving the University as a leader, mentor, and award-winning educator.


Previous recipients

2020John Browse, Institute of Biological Chemistry
2019K.W. Hipps, chemistry, materials science and engineering
2018Mark G. Kuzyk, physics and astronomy
2017Kelvin G. Lynn, mechanical and materials engineering
2016B.W. “Joe” Poovaiah, horticulture
2015John Reganold, crop and soil sciences
2014Ronald C. Mittelhammer, agricultural economics
2013Guy H. Palmer, global animal health
2012Michael J. Smerdon, molecular biosciences
2011Gregory W. Yasinitsky, music

Award criteria, application process, and video of previous recipients