Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Showcase Faculty & staff awards
Extraordinary times, extraordinary individuals
“Join me in congratulating some of our most accomplished faculty and staff—2024 recipients of WSU’s top honors for scholarship, instruction, and service.” —Kirk Schulz, president, Washington State University


Honoring the achievements of WSU faculty and staff

Each year Washington State University recognizes the outstanding achievements of its faculty and staff. Those honored stand among the world’s top scholars, the nation’s most effective and beloved instructors, and the University’s most dedicated and visionary professionals.

These individuals share an unflagging commitment to the University community. By encouraging and challenging students to reach their highest potential, they have created a legacy of excellence that will endure for generations to come.

2024 awardees

Sahlin Eminent Faculty Award

Laura Hill

Professor Emerita, Department of Human Development

Sahlin Faculty Excellence Awards

Michael S. Trevisan – Leadership

Dean, College of Education

Chris Dickey – Instruction

Assistant Professor, School of Music

Kevin Murphy – Outreach & Engagement

Professor, Department of Crop and Soil Sciences

Jon Oatley – Research, Scholarship & Arts

Professor, School of Molecular Biosciences

V. Lane Rawlins President’s Award for Distinguished Lifetime Service

N. Richard Knowles

Professor Emeritus, Department of Horticulture


Emerit Society Legacy of Excellence Award

John Pierce

Professor Emeritus, School of Politics, Philosophy, and Public Affairs

Presenter of the Distinguished Faculty Address

Hans P.A. Van Dongen

Professor, Department of Translational Medicine and Physiology


President’s Distinguished Teaching Award for Career-Track Faculty

Caitlin G. Bletscher

Scholarly Associate Professor, Department of Human Development

T. Francene Watson

Teaching Associate Professor, Department of Teaching and Learning

Faculty Diversity Award

Alexis Tan

Professor, Department of Journalism and Media Production

Faculty Mid-Career Award

Jana Doppa

Associate Professor, School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Innovation and Entrepreneurship Award

Brandon Hopkins

Research Assistant Professor, Department of Entomology


President’s Employee Excellence Awards

Angel Hawkins

Custodian, English Department

Claudia Mickas

Academic Administrative Assistant, History Department

Eric W. Scott

Director of Student Development, Student Affairs and Enrollment

Shaun Sorensen

Stage Manager, School of Music

Elise Zeigler

Program Support Supervisor, College Assistance Migrant Program