Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Showcase 2020 Celebrating Excellence Banquet

Celebrating Excellence Banquet

Honoring the achievements of WSU faculty and staff

The Celebrating Excellence Banquet recognizes the outstanding achievements of WSU faculty and staff. The individuals honored have exhibited extraordinary commitment to the University community. They have encouraged and challenged students to reach their highest potential.

The 2020 event has been postponed.

More information will follow soon.

Program of recognition

Honors presented during this special evening include the following:

Sahlin Eminent Faculty Award

John Browse
Regents Professor, Institute of Biological Chemistry

V. Lane Rawlins Distinguished Lifetime Service Award

Rodney Croteau
Regents Professor, Institute of Biological Chemistry

Emeritus Society Legacy of Excellence Award

Donald Matteson
Professor Emeritus, Department of Chemistry

Sahlin Faculty Excellence Awards


Erika Gudrun Offerdahl
Associate Professor, School of Molecular Biosciences

Outreach & engagement

Cheryl B. Schultz
Professor, School of Biological Sciences

Research, scholarship & arts

Gregory W. Yasinitsky
Regents Professor, Coordinator of Jazz Studies, School of Music


Stephen Bollens
Professor, School of Biological Sciences and School of the Environment
Director, Meyer’s Point Environmental Field Station

President’s Employee Excellence Awards

Nina Woodford
Director, Office of the Campus Veterinarian

Karen Fischer
Associate Dean of Students

Sue Sheppard
Development & Outreach Coordinator, Northwest Public Broadcasting, Edward R. Murrow College of Communication

Denise Keeton
Assistant Director of Business Operations, Office of Commercialization

Ken Innami Porter
Research Technologist II, College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences

President’s Distinguished Teaching Awards for Instructors and Clinical Faculty

Janet Peters
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology

Chris Dickey
Clinical Assistant Professor, Music

Faculty Diversity Award

Gisela Ernst-Slavit
Professor, College of Education

Association for Faculty Women Samuel H. Smith Leadership Award

Catherine “Katie” Marguerite Cooper
Associate Professor, School of the Environment

Innovation and Entrepreneurship Award

Kim Christen
Professor and Director, Digital Technology and Culture Program; Director, Center for Digital Scholarship and Curation

Presenter of the Distinguished Faculty Address

Patricia Hunt
Meyer Distinguished Professor, School of Molecular Biosciences

Promotion to the rank of Regents Professor

Katrina L. Mealey
Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences

Newly tenured and/or promoted faculty members


Enjoy an elegant sit-down dinner, prepared by WSU Catering. Select from a menu of entrees when you register for the event. Special dietary needs may be accommodated.

Spouses, partners, or friends are welcome to attend. Business attire is suggested.