Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Showcase Awards

Presenter of the Distinguished Faculty Address


Recognizing a faculty member’s exemplary achievement

The annual Distinguished Faculty Address honors a faculty member who has risen to the front ranks of his or her discipline through achievements in research, scholarship, and teaching.


Keri E. McCarthy

Professor, School of Music

Keri McCarthy has built global awareness of music from Asia and the United States. Her work has resulted in performances and presentations worldwide dedicated to Asian composers and their music. It has also yielded 18 newly commissioned works for oboe or wind quintet and four commercially-released albums sharing music from Asian and Asian-American artists.

In 2011 a Core Fulbright Scholarship took McCarthy to Thailand to study contemporary music. She later co-founded the Light through Music project, introducing oboe and bassoon to musicians in Myanmar. In 2016 she co-founded the Pan Pacific Ensemble, a wind quintet that has commissioned and recorded works from Asian and Asian-American composers. McCarthy founded OctOboeFest NW, which provides high-school- and college-aged oboists opportunities to learn from nationally recognized musicians. Institutions across the Northwest host the event. A service project that she co-founded brings instruments and education to underserved populations. McCarthy advises WSU’s Fulbright Student Association.



Previous presenters of the Distinguished Faculty Address

2021Amit Bandyopadhyay, School of Mechanical and Materials Engineering
2020Patricia Hunt, School of Molecular Biosciences
2019Maureen Schmitter-Edgecombe, Department of Psychology
2018Susmita Bose, Voiland College of Engineering and Architecture
2017Douglas R. Call, School for Global Animal Health
2016Michael K. Skinner, School of Biological Sciences
2015Gerald B. Berthiaume, School of Music
2014Raymond Reeves, School of Molecular Biosciences
2013Kenneth L. Nash, Department of Chemistry

Award criteria, application process, and video of previous recipients